A Model’s Motto: Don’t Fall

Recently, I revisited my modelling days and took part in the Local Women fashion show. Local Women is a monthly magazine in Northern Ireland centred on sharing local events and news. As part of the Magherafelt style week, vintage fashion extravaganza was held in The Elk Bar, Toomebridge. The Elk Bar has just undergone a complete makeover. The last time I was there, it was a beach themed nightclub now it’s like a whole new venue. I couldn’t believe how well it all looked; so elegant and perfect for all kinds of functions, including a wedding.

Backstage it was an evening of organised chaos; lots of ladies getting final touch ups and fittings, last minute accessories being added and a mad hunt for a plaster. Out front brought a full house of fashion enthusiasts hoping to get a glimpse of some fabulous outfits. I completely forgot how scary it is walking the catwalk; all eyes on you and your outfit. All I could think was ‘don’t fall, don’t fall’. Luckily I didn’t fall (Sorry to disappoint, I know it would have made an interesting read.)

I did however remember to be a good blogger and take lots of pictures so I could share them with you all. You can thank me later…

20131118-105410.jpg

How gorgeous was all of the hair and make up looks!

20131118-105421.jpg

A Grease inspired look with Sandy A and Sandy B.

20131118-105451.jpg

I fell in love with theses two dresses! Two perfect 1920s looks.

20131118-105503.jpg

The 1920s and 1930s come together. Love Lauren’s little picnic box.

20131118-105516.jpg

The perfect party looks.

20131118-105601.jpg

What’s a vintage fashion show without some amazing fur pieces.

20131118-105614.jpg

Two of my fellow 1940s girls.

20131118-105627.jpg

Rachel’s hair was absolutely amazing! She wore the tartan trend perfectly.

20131118-105651.jpg

Caolfhionn in 1920s and myself in a 1940s outfit.

20131118-105704.jpg

How cool is the little twiggy look on the right. Love Shaunagh’s red dress too.

ALL of these outfits were the creation of Keri Leigh Kearney. Yes, that’s right one person!!! I have no idea how she pulled together so many outfits that fitted each era, well I’d say there was a lot of hard work involved.

For my 1940s inspired outfit, I wore a mustard coloured pencil skirt (which proved a little difficult climbing upstairs), a lace vest top and a fitted bolero jacket. It all came together lovely. The ladies from Benefit did my make up; keeping it quite simple and adding a burgundy lip, something I never thought would suit me but I think it tied everything nicely together.  Finally, my hair was done by the very talented Laura McFadden (who also gets nicknamed Lala).

The night provided an opportunity to raise funds for Tiny Life; a charity which helps fund research into premature births while supporting families.

20131118-105715.jpg

Couldn’t resist adding a little picture of one of the little stalls at the show. There were some gorgeous little plagues, diaries, scarves and more from Allie Mae, Maghera.

Anything in there you could see yourself wearing? Any guesses on where my outfit came from? I can’t wait to see next months Local Women magazine with their coverage of the event.

Lala xx

Follow Life of Lala on:
Bloglovin | Facebook | Twitter

Leave a Reply

