5 Easy Steps to Cleaning your Makeup Brushes

I have no idea where I would be without my ever growing makeup brush collection. Top quality brushes make life so much easier when applying your makeup.

mu brushes

If you invest in a good set make sure you keep them clean. Build up on brushes can cause breakouts and your makeup to look a little dull. Depending on how often you use your brushes i’d typically recommend washing them once a week.

Here’s how I clean mine:

1. Run your brushes under some lukewarm water to dampen them.

2. Apply a small amount of shampoo to each brush. Baby shampoo is great but I usually use whichever shampoo I have in at the time.

3. Work the shampoo into a lather, rinse and then repeat until your brushes are squeaky clean; the water should start to run clear when you rinse your brush.

4. Gently squeeze off any excess water and lie flat on a towel to dry naturally.

5. In a hurry? Gently blast with your hairdryer on its coolest setting.
*Use this step with caution as over time the heat of your hairdryer can cause any glue to loosen and cause a loss of bristles in the brushes.

If you need something for in between washes, try the cinema secrets brush cleaner. Simply spray a little on your brush, leave for a few moments and then wipe the brush on some paper towels. It dries in just a few moments. It is absolutely fantastic. I love using it for when I want to change my eyeshadow colours and need fresh brushes to get a true colour that’s not mixed with old product.
Available at Doll Face-House of Makeup, Cookstown

cs cleaner

I hope this helps you a little, if you’d like me to do a full review on the cinema secrets brush cleaner just let me know.

Lala xx

Follow Life of Lala on:
Bloglovin | Facebook | Twitter

Images: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

