Don’t Call Me Stupid…

Stupid; Lacking intelligence or common sense.

I guess everyone has that one phrase or insult that makes them instantly furious. For some it may be ‘fat’ others it may be ‘slut’, for me it’s ‘stupid’.

I was always very timid while at secondary school. I remember on one occasion, I was 17 or 18 and a teacher, an English teacher for that matter called me a ‘stupid little girl’. She instantly regretted it, the ‘little girl’ that would barely speak a word suddenly began to defend herself. Something just clicked in me and I knew I’d never let anyone make me feel stupid, no matter their level of authority. So feeling rather brave, I  replied, ‘Don’t you dare call me stupid!’ She was naturally taken back and began to try to talk her way out of it. In the end she did apologise.

a165baeeac62c47740043a634263c71a

I have no idea why I don’t have the same reaction to insults that would be considered much worse. I’ve had many of an insult threw at me in my short 21 years and I’ll always bounce back. However, if someone were to call me stupid, it’s a completely different story.

I will never ever apologise for having stupid dreams, stupid ideas or stupid thoughts. For they are my dreams, ideas and thoughts and with each I know I will learn something new and grow as a person. And so what if they don’t work out, we’ll then I will learn not to do it again. These dreams. thoughts and ideas are mine; not anyone elses. They are what makes me me. I will not be patronised by someone elses narrow mind; I will be empowered by myself.

42b0233211666f0b3b297b49480bebf0

I guess what I am trying to say is don’t ever call me stupid or anyone else. And no matter what level of education you have, never ever let someone call you stupid! Never give them the ability to make you feel stupid either. And don’t you dare accept that you are stupid!

Lala xx

Follow Life of Lala on:
Bloglovin | Facebook | Twitter Shop

PS. The blog is getting a re-design. Yaaaaay!

2 thoughts on “Don’t Call Me Stupid…

  1. Thank you so much for this post. It actually made me cry. I’ve been going through so much with my father, he’s over controlling and verbally abusuve towards my mother and myself. He constantly calls us stupid and dumb and just a whole bunch of other put downs. It destroys our confidences and for me, my self esteem. Reading this made me so empowered and gave me that boost I needed all these years. Thank you so much for putting these beautiful thoughts into words for the rest of us to enjoy and apply to our own lives.

    1. Hi Tiffany. Thank you for taking the time to comment, I’m so very sorry to hear of the circumstances you are in. Although, I am glad you found this post helpful. I hope that this will be a starting point in your life to resolve the situation. Life is truly so valuable and we should always strive to enjoy it. It always helps me when I write down my feelings, maybe you could consider creating your own blog or even just a private journal. Lisa xx

Leave a Reply

