Lazy Girl Guide: How to do Your Makeup on the Commute

I’ve come to realise something, I am very lazy when it comes to getting myself ready. As much as I love getting dolled up, I can always think of something better to do than spending hours getting ready for the day.

If there’s a shortcut, I’m sure to be doing it. So I thought I should share my tips for making life just that little bit easier, when it comes to being a girl. I’ll be doing a series of posts aptly named the Lazy Girl Guide.

Let’s start with one age old dilemma; whether or not it’s socially acceptable to do your makeup on the train/bus/tram/insert other public transport. Well I’m here to back you up and say he’ll yes it is!!!

This morning I was that girl doing her make up on the way to work. Wanting an extra little time to relax this morning and not to mention my commute to work is almost 2 hours, I really didn’t care what people thought. I do need something to fill the time.

I did find that there’s a few things I couldn’t do because of the whole moving vehicle with lots of people I didn’t know thing and so I thought I’d compile a how to guide for you people wanting/needing an extra 20mins in bed.

article-0-065A4954000005DC-521_468x381

Firstly, I don’t suggest you try and do it if your mode of transport is usually packed and there’s no hope of you ever getting a seat. It’s awkward enough being pressed into the back of a complete stranger, never mind covering them with your make up. I’m sorry you’re just going to have to get up a little extra early.

Secondly, be considerate! There’s no room to do the whole excess powder blow off thing. Only use the smallest amount possible and sure you can always top it up when you get to your destination.

Thirdly, unless you are a pro makeup artist, keep it simple! I opted for a basic base, a little blush, filled my brows slightly and added some mascara.

Also, expect a few glances from your fellow commuters, they are probably just jealous they didn’t think to do it.

Finally be careful. Sudden stops may be necessary (at least that’s what the legal disclaimer signs say) you don’t want to end up poking your eye with the mascara wand. We all know how painful that is! If you’re a little apprehensive with mascara wait until you get to the stops and do it quickly then.

Why should we be deprived of some extra time in bed and then sit doing nothing for a few hours. Are we not always taught it’s good to manage your time effectively? I thought so. As long as you are both careful and considerate towards you other commuters then it’s totally ok to do your makeup on the way to work! And on that note it’s also totally ok to have a makeup free day at work too!

What do you think? Have you ever tried doing your makeup on the commute? Are you absolutely against the idea? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment.

Lala xx

Follow Life of Lala on:
Bloglovin | Facebook | Twitter

Photo: DailyMail.co.uk

This entry was posted in Beauty, Beauty Tips, Lazy Girl Guide and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lazy Girl Guide: How to do Your Makeup on the Commute

  1. Pingback: Lazy Girl Guide: 12 Everyday Outfit Ideas with Minimal Effort | Life of Lala

Leave a Reply

