8 Steps to Make Your Makeup Last Longer

Do you ever have those nights out were you come home and half your makeup has disappeared off your face? Chances are it means you were dancing your socks off and had a great time but all those pictures you took will never see the light of day. I love doing my own makeup but it really bugs me when it fades off. Over the years I have picked up some tips on how to make your makeup last longer, that I thought I would share with you.

IMG_5392-1

Exfoliate and Moisturise
Makeup is best suited to smooth skin. If you have dry areas the foundation will cling to these areas and flake off. Exfoliate your face once to twice a week and moisturise before you apply your makeup. Ensure your moisturiser is fully absorbed before you apply any other products, otherwise it will just slide off.

Use a Primer
Up until very recently I overlooked the need for a primer. Primer creates a barrier over your skin and helps makeup glide on. I like to use one primer all over my face and another for my eyelids, so that my eyeshadow has a base.

Translucent Powder
I like using loose powder to set my foundation. There are two methods to apply your foundation if you want it to last longer. Firstly if  you use a powder puff; remember to press and roll. Press it gently on to your face and then roll the powder puff off your face.
Secondly, if you prefer to use a brush, dab the brush lightly over your skin, rather than sweeping it across.

Waterproof Mascara
Anything waterproof will have extra lasting power. You could use your favourite mascara as a base on your lashes and then apply a waterproof mascara to set it.

Cream Bases Eyes and Cheeks
Layering is a great way to make your makeup last longer. Just like you use a liquid foundation and set it with a powder; use a cream neutral eyeshadow and then use your powders on top of that, same goes for cheeks too!

Lip Tint
Using a lip tint is a great way to give your lips a long lasting hint of colour. I like to apply a lip tint and then apply my lipstick over the top of that. I use a lip brush also which really helps me pack the colour on. In between layers, I will blot my lips on some tissue paper.

Powder on Brows 
Powder on brows lasts longer than a pencil. I fill my brows with powder ensuring that I am gently building it up rather than caking it all on in one go. I then set with a brow mascara/gel. It lasts me all day!

Setting Spray
Once all my makeup is complete I will then spritz some setting spray over my face. This helps my makeup stay in place all day.

So the next time you have a big event coming up, make sure to follow these steps for super long lasting makeup. If you do try some of these tips let me know how long your makeup lasted by tweeting me (@LifeofLalaBlog) or leaving a comment below. Also, if you have any other tips please share them in the comments also.

Lala xx

ysw-footer-icon-facebook ysw-footer-icon-twitter bloglovin instagram ysw-footer-icon-pinterest

This entry was posted in Beauty, Beauty Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 8 Steps to Make Your Makeup Last Longer

  1. Aoife says:

    I needed this post more than I can even imagine! I’m a big fan of Victoria Secret’s Setting Spray, but I somehow never thought to use primer as well. Doh!

    • lifeoflala says:

      I really like the Smashbox primer but of course there are cheaper alternatives to it! Oooh I haven’t tried the VS setting spray I must keep an eye out for it!

  2. anxietymamma says:

    Hello! I’m new to your blog but I’m thinking I’m going to be a frequent visitor 😛
    I’m yet to find a translucent powder that I actually like! I’ve been using a mac foundation powder on top of my liquid foundation but it tends to look a bit cakey. Any recommendations for a good translucent powder?
    Also feeling a bit of hair envy over here! Look at those locks :O

    • lifeoflala says:

      Hey there! I’m glad to hear you will be visiting frequently! Is it beauty posts you are most interested in? I love the Collection one… It’s super cheap and is perfect for long lasting makeup… Just use a little bit at a time to avoid cakiness! If you want to keep up to date, be sure to follow me on facebook 😃

      • anxietymamma says:

        I love beauty posts but I’m happy with a bit of everything!
        I don’t think we have Collection in Australia 😦 Not that I’ve heard of at least!

  3. Pingback: My Everyday Makeup Products: Drugstore | Life of Lala

Leave a Reply

