Career: 8 Questions to Ask at the End of an Interview

Aloha lovelies,

Last week I tested the water with my very first career related post and you seemed to love it; it was my most viewed post of the week! The truth is, I have a huge interest in all things career related, so much so that my friend recently dubbed me a ‘CV Queen’. Following that major compliment, I thought I would start sharing my tips and advice with you guys too. A lot of people that I know are recent graduates and are beginning to launch themselves in to their first graduate job, so I hope that these posts can help any of you in a similar position or wanting to progress in your current career.

Questions to ask at the End of an Interview

I have only ever had one job interview where I wasn’t asked at the end of it, if I had any questions. Employers are keen to see what level of interest you have in their advertised role by asking you if you have some questions. It is of course a great opportunity for you to find out some more about the role too and ensure it is a good fit for you.

With that in mind, here are some top tips to consider when thinking of a question to ask:

  • It is a good idea to try and have a couple of questions prepared, just in case you become so relieved that your interview is over that your mind goes blank.
  • Make sure you don’t ask any questions that have already been answered during the course of the interview.
  • Try and ask open questions rather than those which would have a yes or no answer.
  • Use the opportunity to show the interviewer that you have researched the company by asking a question following something that you read on their website or another place.

And finally here are some of the questions which are great to ask at the end of your interview:

  1. Have you any reservations about my ability to do this job?
  2. What are the day to day responsibilities of this role?
  3. What is the usual career path of someone within this role?
  4. Could you tell me about the current team/person I would be reporting to?
  5. What skills and qualities would make up an ideal candidate for this position?
  6. What challenges are the team I will be working with/company facing at present?
  7. How would you describe the culture of the company?
  8. Are there opportunities within this role to progress/develop?

I really hope you enjoyed this and also found it helpful. Have you ever used any of these questions in an interview? Or do you have any others which to share?

Speak soon,
Lisa xx

Leave a Reply

