Natural Confirmation/Communion Makeup Tutorial

Hi everyone! Hope you are all having a wonderful weekend. It is my youngest brother’s confirmation on Saturday and I’ve been spending today playing around with how I’ll wear my make up. I love planning my make up before special events like this. That way I am not stressing on the morning of the event (too much).

Natural Confirmation Communion Makeup Life of Lala Belfast Beauty Blog

I’m at my family home for the weekend and only brought my everyday make up bag home from Belfast, so I was a very bad sister and used some of my sisters foundation and eye shadows without actually asking before. In my defence, she is at work and probably would have said yes had I of asked (at least I hope that’s the case). The foundation I have my own bottle of so knew it was a winner but the eye shadow palette I do not have one of my own so it was fun trying this out for the first time.

It is a gorgeous little collection of neutral colours perfect for confirmation or communion and I can not get over how inexpensive it is now that I have googled it. I’ll tell you a little more about the eye shadows I used further down this post. I thought it’d be helpful to share a step by step of the products I used so that you can  get some inspiration if you are doing your own make up for a similar event and I can also refer back her on Saturday.

To begin, I primed my face using the Laura Mercier Hydrating Primer. This is a great primer for anyone with dry skin and it makes your foundation last literally all day. While this absorbed in to my skin, I started on my eyes. To keep my eye make up in place I primed my eye lids with the NYX Eye Shadow Base in skin tone. I then set this with the stone/ beige shadow from my HD Brow Palette in Bombshell.

For the rest of my shadow I used the Makeup Revolution Iconic Pro 2 Palette which is only £6 from Superdrug. I have a few other palettes from Makeup Revolution which are also very affordable and are extremely high quality. Their eye shadows are very pigmented and easy to blend. I highly recommend checking out this brand if you need any new make up bits and don’t want to spend too much.

Makeup Revolution Iconic Pro 2 Palette

From the Iconic Pro 2 Palette, I used the second from the left shadow on the top row and blended this over my crease and outer lid area with a fluffy blending brush as a transition shade. (A transition shade is helpful for blending the other shadows together and gives your eye some added depth.) I then used the first shadow on the left, top row all over my lid. For my crease, I used the third shadow on the left on the top row, I applied this using the tip of a flat brush for precision and then blended this out using a fluffy blending brush. I added a little at a time and built it up to an intensity I was happy with. I then used the second from the left on the bottom row, which has a subtle shimmer and pressed this colour on to my lid with a flat brush. When I was happy with the colours I took a clean blending brush and blended the eye shadows together once again.

If like me you only have a few eye brushes at hand, you can spot clean them with some Micellar water. Simply drop some Micellar water onto the brush and wipe the brush on some kitchen roll. In the same way that Micellar water breaks down and removes the make up on your face it will also do this to the make up on your brush.

Next, I went back to my face and used the Face Atelier Ultra Foundation in Porcelain all over my face and also on my neck. This foundation gives a great amount of coverage without feeling heavy and is also very long lasting. For concealer I used the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer in Fair 1. I have been using this concealer for a few years and don’t remember a time I used an alternative one. It’s only £4 yet is absolutely fantastic!  I applied this in a triangle shape under my eyes, down the bridge of my nose, in the centre of my forehead and chin and also on my cupids bow as a highlighter. I then used the same concealer to cover up any redness around my nose and also any spots I have. To the parts I wanted to highlight I added a lot of the Vichy Dermablend white loose powder with a sponge to these areas to allow the make up to bake.

Going back to my eye area I used the HD Brow Palette in Bombshell mixed with a little Face Atelier Transforming Gel to fill in my brows. The transforming gel is like magic. It turns any shadows into a liquid/gel consistency. I use the transforming gel to fill in my brows and also line my eyes instead of liquid liner. It’s the newest addition to my make up collection so I am still figuring out its uses. If you’ve ever used it before let me know if there’s any other ways you like to use it. I finished off my eye shadow by going back to the third shadow on the left on the top row of the Iconic Pro 2 Palette and running a little of this under my eye just stopping before the tear duct.

Using a large powder brush I swept away the excess powder that was left from baking my concealer. I added some bronzer to my cheeks and forehead using the Bourjois Bronzing Powder in medium 51. For contour and blush I used another palette from Makeup Revolution called the Protection Palette in Light/Medium. This palette is so handy for travel as it contains three concealers, a setting powder, contour shade, blush and a pinky toned highlighter. I wanted more of a white highlighter though so I went back to the Iconic Pro 2 Palette and used the white shimmery shade (first on the left, bottom row) to highlight my cheek bone and brow bone.

I wanted a natural sheer lip colour so opted for the Sexy Mother Pucker Gloss Stick by Soap and Glory in Pink-a-boo. It’s just the right amount of gloss for my liking as it isn’t too shiny or sticky. I finished off my look with my three favourite Maybelline products. I lined my eyes with their Master Ink liquid liner in matte black (I can only find a link to the satin version so check in your nearest chemist/drug store if you want to buy the matte version). I curled my lashes and then applied The Falsies: Push Up Drama Mascara by Maybelline. And finally I combed a little of Maybelline’s Brow Drama in Medium through my brows.

I hope you enjoyed reading about this natural make up look I’ll be wearing to my brother’s confirmation next weekend. If you have any questions about anything I have mentioned in this post just let me know and I’ll happily help.

Speak soon,
Lisa

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Natural Confirmation/Communion Makeup Tutorial

  1. Abe nik says:

    you look beautiful

Leave a Reply

